The library's digital collections are currently under construction. In order to provide a better experience, we are moving the collections to a different database. During this process, the existing digital collections can only be viewed on computers located at the Whittier Public Library and Whittwood Branch Library.
Please excuse the inconvenience. In the meantime, we hope you will check out the collections we have moved into our new database so far by clicking here.
The City of Whittier was founded in 1887 as a Quaker colony. By 1900, the population had grown to 3,000 and the town felt the need for a public library. Concerned citizens, including the Whittier Christian Temperance Union, held the first meeting of the Library Board of Trustees on April 17, 1900. A reading room opened and was housed in various buildings in Uptown Whittier. In 1905 three lots at the corner of Greenleaf Avenue and Bailey Street were purchased with funding from the Carnegie Foundation. The new Carnegie Library opened June 29, 1907.
The current Whittier Public Library facility opened June 1, 1959 in the Whittier Civic Center. Designed by architect William H. Harrison, it originally occupied 27,845 square feet, which increased to 34.543 square feet upon completion of the mezzanine in 1974. The original design was one of openness and flexibility, with an abundance of natural light.
The Whittwood Branch, also designed by William H. Harrison, opened in East Whittier in June of 1968 and reopened again in December of 2012 following a major expansion/renovation.