City of Whittier Community Development Whittier Historic Preservation

The Community Development Historic Preservation website includes information about how to obtain a Certificate of Appropriateness application, financial incentives to maintain historic property in Whittier, the process and criteria related to nominating potential local historic landmarks and descriptions of the City's existing historic landmarks and districts.

City of Whittier Historic Resources Commission

The Historic Resources Commission consists of five members selected to advise the City Council on matters related to the preservation of historic resources within the City. Responsibilities include recommendations for local historic designations of buildings and sites; recommendations regarding the establishment of local historic districts; the completion of a comprehensive historic survey of potentially historic structures; and the education of the general public in matters relating to historic preservation. The Commission reviews Certificate of Appropriateness applications for proposed remodels, additions or new development in a Historic District and for homes listed on the survey.

Friends of the Whittier Hills Association

P.O. Box 247, Whittier, CA 90606
562 941-1486

The Friends of the Whittier Hills is dedicated to saving the Whittier Hills. They support and educate the public concerning the hills and environment.

Hills for Everyone

The Hills for Everyone’s mission is to protect, preserve and restore the environmental resources and natural environs of the Puente-Chino Hills and surrounding areas for the enjoyment of current and succeeding generations and to initiate, sponsor, promote, organize and carry out plans, programs, and activities that will tend to further these ends.

Pio Pico State Historic Park

Pío Pico California State Historic Park preserves the former home of last governor of Mexican California, Pío de Jesús Pico IV (May 5, 1801 – September 11, 1894).

Puente Hills Habitat Preservation Authority

The Puente Hills Habitat Preservation Authority is dedicated to the acquisition, restoration, & management of open space in the Puente Hills.

San Gabriel & Lower Los Angeles Rivers and Mountains Conservancy

The San Gabriel and Lower Los Angeles Rivers and Mountains Conservancy (RMC) was created by the California legislature in 1999. They are one of ten conservancies within the California Resources Agency. Their mission is to preserve open space and habitat in order to provide for low-impact recreation and educational uses, wildlife habitat restoration and protection, and watershed improvements within their jurisdiction, which covers eastern Los Angeles County and western Orange County. This vast and varied area includes mountains, valleys, rivers, coastal plain, and coastline.

Whittier Area Genealogical Society

The purpose of the Whittier Area Genealogical Society (WAGS) is: to provide a genealogical society for the people of the greater Whittier area; to encourage and stimulate interest in genealogy; to provide interesting educational genealogical programs; to have a genealogical library; to develop and execute genealogical projects; to provide a center for exchange of surnames and genealogical material; to be available to respond to questions from people outside the area about the history of the Whittier area. Their research collection is housed at Whittier College’s Wardman Library.

Whittier Audubon Society

The purpose of the Society is to promote the study of the protection of birds and all other related aspects of the environment.

Whittier College Wardman Library

Wardman Library, in addition to its main collection, curates a wide assortment of historical materials. Special collections are tied to the Quakers and the College's history, and the Library also hosts on its main floor the Whittier Area Genealogical Society's (WAGS) extensive collection of research materials. Researchers can access these special collections by appointment. The Special Collections include 100 years of The Quaker Campus, historical materials related to the town of Whittier, photographs and letters by John Greenleaf Whittier, papers of and about Jessamyn West, Quaker autobiographies, and a large collection of Richard M. Nixon historical materials.

Whittier Conservancy

The Whittier Conservancy is committed to the preservation and enhancement of Whittier's unique character and quality of life. The Conservancy promotes awareness and appreciation of Whittier's historic, aesthetic, and natural resources. The Conservancy works for the preservation and sensitive use of Whittier's significant residential structures, landmark commercial buildings, and notable landscapes, including its valuable cultivated trees, public parks, and the natural beauty of the Whittier Hills.

Whittier Historical Neighborhood Association

The Association is comprised of homeowners, tenants, and landlords. Its purpose is to protect and promote the common good and general welfare of residents living within its boundaries, and to preserve the historic integrity and natural resources of the area. The Association has recruited Neighborhood Watch Block Captains on all blocks within its boundaries; it publishes a free Neighborhood Newsletter, recognizes neighbors who significantly improve the exterior of their homes, welcomes new neighbors into the neighborhood, sponsors an Annual Neighborhood Holiday Decoration Contest, holds neighborhood meetings covering a wide-range of informative topics, and sponsors an Annual Home Tour. Home Tour proceeds are devoted to neighborhood improvement projects.

Whittier Historical Society & Museum

The Whittier Historical Society is a non-profit corporation that collects, preserves, and displays the history of Whittier. In addition to the Whittier Museum, the Society staffs The Jonathan Bailey Home and Park, publishes The Gazette, operates the museum store, and produces historical programs and exhibits.